Our Governing Body

Remit and Structure

Willowfield School is a community school maintained by the London Borough of Waltham Forest. The Governing Body has the overall responsibility, under the Education Act 2002, for the conduct of the school, for promoting high standards of educational achievement, and for ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction. The Headteacher is accountable to the Governing Body for the internal organisation, management and control, and the educational performance of the school and its students.

Governors are responsible for the strategic vision of the school and for supporting the Headteacher and staff in achieving that vision. Governors have responsibility for appointing the Headteacher, managing the school’s budget, setting annual targets and monitoring performance against those targets, all in the interest of raising standards of achievement. In addition to these statutory responsibilities, Governors do a wide variety of other things, either through formal committee activity or through personal involvement with the day-to-day life of the school.

Governors are responsible for overseeing the financial performance of the school, making sure its money is well spent, and ensuring that Willowfield School has an effective and appropriate system of financial and management controls. The Governing Body has delegated day to day responsibility for implementing effective management systems, including financial monitoring and control systems to the Headteacher. They have also delegated responsibility for ensuring that these systems conform to good financial management practice and the finance regulations of the London Borough of Waltham Forest.

Willowfield governors are expected to adhere to the job description and code of conduct for governors developed by the school (see below)





Parent Governors



Local Authority Governor



Staff Governor






Co-opted Governors


The governing body of Willowfield School was reconstituted on 1 September 2015 and is made up of 15 governors.

The full governing body meets at least once per term and is serviced by two committees (Curriculum & Outcomes and Finance, Premises and Personel), which also meet termly. There is also a governors’ pay committee.

The chair of governors for 2023-24 is Stuart Smith and Vice Chair is Costas Kyriacou. The governor’s pay committee is made up of the Chair, the Vice-Chair and the two Chairs of the committees.

Brief relating to Curriculum & Outcomes Committee (Powers delegated by the full governing body)

  • To provide guidance to the Governing Body and Headteacher on all matters relating to the curriculum and Outcomes
  • To review, monitor and make recommendations on all policies relating to students’ wellbeing including: equal opportunities, special educational needs, behaviour (including anti-bullying), pupil premium, provision for collective worship and religious education; sex and relationships education.
  • To take a strategic view on all policies relating to the recruitment, performance, remuneration or wellbeing of staff or any other personnel related matters and monitor their implementation (including Performance Management)

Brief relating to the Finance, Premises and personnel Committee (Powers delegated by the full governing body)

  • To provide guidance to the Governing Body and Headteacher on all matters relating to finance as outlined in the School's Financial Regulations & Scheme of Delegation.
  • To provide guidance to the Governing Body and Headteacher on all matters relating to premises, health and safety and personnel.

Brief relating to the Pay Committee (Powers delegated by the full governing body)

  • Monitoring and reviewing the Whole School Pay Policy.
  • Reviewing staff salaries (including head teacher, deputy head and teachers' salaries) including setting salary points and movement up the Upper Pay Spine and Leadership Spine.

All governors belong to one of the sub-committees in addition to the full governing body and some have responsibility as a ‘link governor” for an aspect of the school improvement plan. Details are given below.

Link Role Link Governor 
Attendance  Amina Shirwa
Professional Development Nick Souroup
Leadership and Management Sarah Harris (Chair of Curriculum committee)
Sustainability and Cultural Capital Stuart Smith
Careers and Wellbeing Costas Kyriacou (Chair of Finance committee)
Health and Safety Oliver Brill
SEND Kevin Reed
Safeguarding and LAC Edmond Chan
Behaviour for learning Vicky Ladizhinskaya
Co-Opted Governor Gareth Stevnson